Linville Hill Christian School
Faith. Service. Learning.

Miss Stoltzfus' Second Grade Page

 

Welcome to Second Grade!

 

"Listen to advice and accept instruction and in the end you will be wise."

-Proverbs 19:20

 

"Let my teaching fall like rain and my words descend like dew, like showers on new grass, like abundant rain on tender plants."

                                                          -Deuteronomy 32:2

 

 Bald Eagle Webcam:

We have been enjoying a glimpse into the life of a bald eagle family.  The Pennsylvania Game Commission, along with the support of several businesses, has installed a webcam in Hanover, PA that overlooks a nest in real time.  If you would also like to follow along, the link to the website is below.

http://www.portal.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt?open=514&objID=1592549&mode=2

Eagles Cropped

 

Educational Links:

Listed below are links to some fun, educational websites.  These links are sorted by subject and include activities that reinforce concepts we have been learning in the classroom.  Students may be familiar with some of these sites from Computer class.  Enjoy!

All Subjects:

2nd Grade Turtle Diary Education Computer Games: http://www.turtlediary.com/grade-2-games.html

Mr. Nussbaum's Grade 2 Games and Activities: http://mrnussbaum.com/grade-2/

Tagxedo Word Web Creator: http://www.tagxedo.com/app.html

ReadWriteThink Venn Diagram: http://www.readwritethink.org/files/resources/interactives/venn_diagrams/

ReadWriteThink Cube Creator: http://www.readwritethink.org/files/resources/interactives/cube_creator/

 

Math:

Subtraction with Regrouping Practice:

Drag-n-Drop Math: http://mrnussbaum.com/draggablemain/index2/

Fruit Shoot Subtraction: http://www.sheppardsoftware.com/mathgames/fruitshoot/fruitshoot_subtraction.htm

Addition with Regrouping Practice: http://www.math-play.com/soccer-math-adding-two-digit-whole-numbers/adding-two-digit-numbers.html

Math Fact Practice: http://www.abcya.com/math_facts_game.htm

Sheppard Software  Math Games: http://www.sheppardsoftware.com/math.htm

Funbrain Math Arcade: http://www.funbrain.com/brain/MathBrain/MathBrain.html

Fuel the Brain Arcade: http://www.fuelthebrain.com/

Smarty Games; Money, Time: http://www.smartygames.com/index.php

Math Chimp Games: http://www.mathchimp.com/2ndGrade.php

Money Flashcards: http://www.aplusmath.com/cgi-bin/flashcards/money

 

Language Arts:

Parts of Speech:

Common or Proper Nouns: http://www.harcourtschool.com/activity/basketball/

Balloon Noun Game:  http://www.softschools.com/language_arts/grammar/noun/balloon_game/

MadLibs, Parts of Speech: http://www.funbrain.com/brain/ReadingBrain/Games/Game.html?GameName=MadLibsOnceUponA&Brain=reading&GameNumber=2&Color=FFFFFF

Sentences: 

Sentence Power: http://www.harcourtschool.com/activity/sentence_power/index.html

Compound Sentences: http://www.harcourtschool.com/activity/sentence_combine/index.html

Vocabulary: 

Free Rice Vocabulary (Students can practice their vocabulary while helping to feed the hungry!): http://freerice.com/#/english-vocabulary/1652

Phonics/Spelling: 

Sadlier Phonics: http://www.sadlier-oxford.com/phonics/student.cfm

ReadWriteThink Word Family Sorts: http://www.readwritethink.org/files/resources/interactives/wordfamily/

TVO Spelling Bee: http://www.tvokids.com/games/spellingbee

Reading:

We Give Books, free children's books to read online: http://www.wegivebooks.org/

Writing:

ReadWriteThink Letter and Postcard Generators: http://www.readwritethink.org/files/resources/interactives/letter_generator/

http://www.readwritethink.org/files/resources/interactives/postcard/

ReadWriteThink Poetry: http://www.readwritethink.org/files/resources/interactives/theme_poems/

http://www.readwritethink.org/files/resources/interactives/diamante_poems_2/

http://www.readwritethink.org/files/resources/interactives/acrostic/

Comic Creator: http://www.readwritethink.org/files/resources/interactives/comic/

Shel Silverstein, Practice Being a Poet: http://www.shelsilverstein.com/fun/games/practice-being-a-poet/

 

Science:

Identify the Planets: http://www.softschools.com/science/space/solar_system_kids_games/

Ecosystems Video: http://studyjams.scholastic.com/studyjams/jams/science/ecosystems/ecosystems.htm

Producer, Consumer, & Decomposer Game: http://www.sheppardsoftware.com/content/animals/kidscorner/games/producersconsumersgame.swf

Research Animals: http://kids.nationalgeographic.com/kids/animals/creaturefeature/

Match the Habitat: http://www.cserc.org/main/games/matchthehabitat/

Magic School Bus Science Games: http://www.scholastic.com/magicschoolbus/games/index.htm

The Water Cycle Diagram: http://earthguide.ucsd.edu/earthguide/diagrams/watercycle/

Infrared Zoo Gallery (How are hot- and cold-blooded animals different?): http://coolcosmos.ipac.caltech.edu/image_galleries/ir_zoo/ 

Switch Zoo: http://www.switcheroozoo.com/zoo.htm

 

Social Studies:

The Revolutionary War (Liberty's Kids games, trivia, and video clips): http://www.libertyskids.com/archive.html

Thanksgiving: http://www.scholastic.com/scholastic_thanksgiving/feast/

Immigration: http://www.tenement.org/immigrate/

Draw the Habitat: http://pbskids.org/fetch/games/habitats/

Famous Biographies: http://www.turtlediary.com/biographies.html

Dr. Seuss' Biography: http://www.seussville.com/#/author